Chinese Zodiac at Hong Kong ifc mall

There are 12 zodiacs in the Chinese Calendar. IFC shopping mall in Hong Kong has decided to show case all 12 animals at different corners during the Chinese New Year period.

Chinese Zodiac at ifc mall, Hong Kong

This 2015 is the Year of the Goat. Designers have certainly placed the Goat at the highest possible position. Without a doubt the Goat is overshadowed by the Dragon, which is also one of the 12 'animals' in Chinese zodiac. The Chinese dragon is not quite Barney nor Harry Potter, they are quite slim and long. 

Rat and Ox

Horse and Monkey

Funny enough these animals are not quite to scale. The monkey, snake and rooster are as big as four legged animals like the horse, pig and goat. Perhaps they have also planned ahead for Easter and made the rabbit much bigger than the rest of the gang.

Rooster and Snake

Goat, Tiger and Pig


The Chinese Zodiac is based on an ancient Chinese story, where 12 animals entered a race hosted by the "Heavenly King". The story contains interesting spin-off details of the race that "explained" the current appearance and relationships between certain animals. The result of the race determined the sequence of the 12 Chinese Zodiac and they are: Rat, Ox (Cow), Tiger, Hare (Rabbit), Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat (Sheep), Monkey, Rooster (Chicken), Dog, Pig (Hog).